Finance Department Wins Financial Reporting Award

The Derry Town Finance Department is 16 for zero.

Chief Financial Officer and Interim Town Administrator Susan Hickey reported at the Sept. 1 Town Council meeting that her department has once again won the Government Finance Officers CAFR Award for its financial reporting for 2014. This is the 16th year the town has received the honor, Hickey said.

Hickey singled out Controller Janice Mobsby, Senior Accountant Mark Fleischer, Payroll and Benefits Specialist Robert McCarthy and Accounts Payable Bookkeeper Katherine Arsenault as the forces behind Derry’s continued success.

“This is an important panel with high standards and it requires full disclosure,” Hickey said of the team evaluating Derry.

The Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) is a professional association of approximately 17,500 state, provincial and local government finance officers in the United States and Canada and is located in Chicago.

A Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) is a set of U.S. government financial statements comprising the financial report of a state, municipal or other governmental entity that complies with the accounting requirements of the Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB). GASB provides standards for the content of a CAFR in its annually updated publication “Codification of Governmental Accounting and Financial Reporting Standards.”