Derry Residents Invited to Respond to Town Survey

The Derry Town Survey committee is wrapping up its work, with just a few days left for residents to voice their opinions on the direction they want their town to take.

Councilor David Fischer, a representative of the committee, gave an update at the Dec. 15 Town Council meeting.

“During last year’s budget process, a lot of people expressed a lot of opinions,” Fischer told the Council and audience. “This survey contains open-ended questions and is an opportunity for you to vote on the issues concerning you.”

Fischer said the committee had received 440 responses by the time of the meeting.

The committee also solicited local businesses for gift cards to raffle as an incentive for residents to complete the survey. Some of the businesses responding are Woof Meow, Walmart, Brooklyn Bagel, Rig A Tony’s, Amphora, Shaw’s, Panera Bread, Blue House Pizza, Derry Cinema, Hannaford and Sabatino’s, and those completing the survey are entered in a drawing for these and other gift cards, Fischer said.

Responses are due by Dec. 25 and the survey is both online and available in hard copy in the Municipal Center lobby, according to Fischer. The survey is available on the town Web site at

At the Dec. 15 meeting the Council also voted unanimously to authorize the Economic Development Committee as a permanent advisory committee for the town. Council Chair Tom Cardon, also chair of Economic Development, laid out the structure suggested by the committee, which includes seven permanent members, two alternate members, one Council representative, one Planning Board representative, and the Economic Development Coordinator when hired.

Terms would be staggered, with two one-year terms, two two-year terms, two three-year terms, one two-year alternate term and one three-year alternate term. All terms would begin April 1, 2016.

The Council voted 7-0 to approve the establishment of the committee.

In other business:

  • The Council approved the appointment of Cindy Peaslee to the Energy and Environmental Advisory Committee on a 6-1 vote, and Daniel MacInnis to the Highway Safety Committee, 6-1. Councilor Al Dimmock was the dissenting vote on both, due to the fact that neither candidate was present at the meeting.

• The Council voted 7-0 to rescind the appointment of Michael DeMeo as an alternate to the Zoning Board of Adjustment, due to DeMeo’s illness.